track speed?

n2oiroc

i am trying to get into off trail more and more. could someone explain the importance of track speed to me? i might as well get my learn on in the summer! ;)!

alot of track speed combined with tall paddles allows the snow to be "formed" and packed under the track so that it can provide better flotation and allow more traction to keep you moving forward. Pretty much as simple as that.

I wish it was that easy. But honestly its not, and I'm still learning alot myself So I wont be much help. I will say that when you hear people throw out track speed numbers it dont mean anything unless you were there that same day doing the same climb and compaired speeds. Snow conditons and grade make such a huge difference. Once more thing......Gear too low and its going to trench like a mother! Been there, done that. Have fun learning....thats what I do.

There is no "ideal" track speed for all sleds. Way to many variables, mainly snow condition's, track length and horse power.
Here's what you want to shoot for, when testing for climbing.
Mark your primary clutch with a magic marker line. Pick a hill you want to test on, and climb it WOT. Turn out and stop in a safe place, and check the mark on your clutch. In most cases you want the primary clutch to shift approx 3/4 of the way out, so the primary and secondary are almost the same size. (1 to 1) This would be the most efficient ratio area.
This testing would be to find your ideal climbing set up, and would not be the best set up for trail riding, drag racing, etc.
Now comes the fun part! You regear/clutch to bring the marked pattern in the ideal range. Go back out the next day and hit the same hill. Only now the snow is wet and heavy. The clutches wont shift out as much, (lower track speed) because of more drag/traction from the wet heavy snow.