2001 SRX Suspension

sledder

I have been riding yammies for 15 years - I currently own a 01 SRX - nice sled - skid frame sucks. I usually take a beating on other boards for my opinions, however, I am starting to agree with 'Green and Yellow' Yamahas' lineup bites. If you want a performance sled - the tank is too heavy and the Viper S is marginally acceptable. Any comments.

Here's a suggestion. Learn how to set up the skid for your weight and riding style, then get back to us with an informed opinion. If you soften the springs too far, you'll cause the skid to be in 'coupled' mode all the time, resulting in a rough ride. It's got to be RIGHT for what you need, and never trust a dealer with suspension set ups, they don't care enough to do it right.

Green and Yellow, what the hell do they know about Yamaha's? They think their sleds are best, and will tell you just that. Do you want to whoop them and not get beat up doing it? Learn how to tune your sled. I had to learn the hard way, but I wound up with a great handling and riding sled that I now find hard to get rid of. I like it too much!

Good luck!

Actually the front suspension is setup aggressive, the rear is stiff. Remember the sled only has 8 inchs of travel 7.5 full stroke. The stiff setup allows the suspension to couple in the nasties without bottoming. Not to mention the attack angle of the track sucks preventing proper floatation in heavy snow. I can spank most 800s in the flats - add Sunday afternoon to the trails and the situation is usually different. Trust me - you can't tell me much about this sled. However, I am more interested in your blind faith towards Yamaha. The only product they currently offer that can compete in any class is the four stroke. what a joke. And even the RX Warrior wouldn't dare to compete against the REV Renegade 800 HO or Polaris SKS.