Air tools,what brand would you recomend?

fourbarrel

VIP Lifetime Member
My fiance bought me an air compressor for my b-day and now I'm in the process of outfitting myself with some air tools.Now to start with this isn't a big compressor with a 60gal resevoir it's a Campbell Hausefeld upright with a 25 gal capacity and unfotunately I dont have the cfm specs in front of me but it's fairly respectable from what I can remember.What I'm looking for is some input on what you guys use for air tools like ratchets and impacts( either 3/8 or 1/2" ).I've worked on my sled in my cousins shop with just about any kind of tool one could want even though he's not a mechanic by trade and his brand in Snap On;I gotta tell they work sweet.I know they're expensive a hell but are there some other brands that work as good and are less pricey?I've been checking Ebay and there's a few that I am interested in but want a bit more info before I commit to bid.I'm looking for a 3/8 ratchet and a 1/2" impact to start with and will get a 3/8 impact eventually.

The thing that attracts me to the Snap On ratchet is their speed vs others,most I've been looking at are 225-250rpm.

Last edited:

I think Snap-On has the best quality. As you said they are expensive. The Snap-On dealers also carry Blue Point air tools (just as nice). What size compressor tank do you have (tank size). If you have anything smaller than a 60gal tank, I wouldn't bother to much with air tools. Most of you air tools require 90psi or greater. If you have a small tank, it won't be able to hold enough air to run your tools for any length of time. To save your self some money also check Ingersoll Rand. They also make some nice air tools. Hope that helps. Brad