Project SRX!!!!

DeviantSRX

I found the first sled in a friend of mines garage after he had already stolen the track for use on his sled. The sled was an '01 SRX which had the misfortune of having the motor taken apart after some mechanical problems and never put back together. (it sat in a barn for the better part of four years completly apart and uncovered) The chassis was still in relativly good shape even though it had close to 6000 miles on it. I am a mechanic by trade and had completly gone through and rebuilt a number of quads and dirtbike so i figured a snowmobile motor wouldnt be much different, just a few more cylinders, right? Needless to say a few days later I meet the actual owner, and after a few strong drinks and a game of poker the sled was mine.

At the time I was in my last semester of college and the sled had to sit for a little whil longer. I started poking around trying to find a motor for this thing and it wasent long before I realized how much money it was going to take to get it back on the trail. Money I didnt have.

At this point though, I had done a fair amout of reaserch on the sled ad I was aware of what I had, the potential to have an awesome sled. So instead of looking for just a motor I decided to start looking for a wrecked sled that I could use the parts I had to fix. Thanks to some advice I got on this site and Craigslist.com, I found the exact same sled with only 1135 miles on it that had clipped a boulder and rolled. Most of the damage was done to the right front suspension, hood and windshield, all of which I had.

So after a weekends worth of work, I now have a running and ridable '01 SRX that I will continue to ride and build.

Pics comming soon!!
:yrules:

Attachments

• TY pic 1.jpg
    TY pic 1.jpg
    6.3 KB · Views: 539
  • TY pic 2.jpg
    TY pic 2.jpg
    5.5 KB · Views: 538
  • TY pic 3.jpg
    TY pic 3.jpg
    5.8 KB · Views: 541
  • TY pic 5.JPG
    TY pic 5.JPG
    14.6 KB · Views: 541
  • TY pic 7.JPG