Making the SX Viper "Q" - Polaris IQR 440 skid swap

RTYsxv

As some of you may know, I decided to ditch the Yamaha Proaction rear skid on my 03 Viper and have been looking for something better. I had a thread about it in one of the forums. Well I found a 2007 Polaris IQr 440 skid, with the Walker Evans shocks. It was shipped from Utah, and showed up today, so the project begins. I thought I'd do a working log thread on it as it progresses, that way someone can learn a little and see a few pics if they want to do something similar. They can learn from my mistakes and have an idea of what is all involved in a project like this. I'm new to this skid swapping business myself, but I've been reading up on it for the last month and happened to find someone with a lot of experience doing this to have as a resource. Of course, there's always help available on this great site as well. So we'll see how it goes! :rocks: :yam:

To start with, of course, I had to remove the Yamaha Proaction skid. It was pretty easy until I got to removing the front-most mounting point, the infamous W-arm. I don't have any pics of it, so I'll try to explain. The W-arm top shaft is hollow, and there is a shaft inside that the bolts thread into. The problem is, this shaft is free to spin, so if you try to loosen the mounting bolts you will simply turn the shaft and not loosen anything.

So I'm sitting out here in the shop with a ratchet trying to get these bolts loose, getting absolutely nowhere because I didn't realize what was going on. After a long while I finally realize the shaft is spinning. What do I do now? :whine: Search the TY forums of course! ;)! 5 min later I found out you need an impact wrench to spin these off. First you tighten one side. Then spin the other side loose. And if you're lucky you can come back and get the side you tightened loose too. Worked like a charm, and out came my old skid.