Off Trail Riding

rubbersidedown

I am new to being the lead rider off trail. 2 times in the last three weeks. I have been out front only to be burried in 2-3 foot of stuck. And then only a short distance later stuck again. Now I know that getting burried is a fact of off trail riding, but I seem to get burried a lot more that the rest of my group. I ride with the same 5 or 6 guys and they have tried to help but I seem to be at a loss. So now I'm looking for suggestions since almost all the trails in the U.P. are very burnt up. So any advice no matter how simple is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Scott

I notice a couple things based on your listed mods in your signature. The M10 skid has a fairly steep approach angle. This causes trenching when moving slow in deep snow. What track are you running? I switched my Attak to a Predator 1.25 before I ever rode it. It's now a 144x1.5 Crossover with an ExpertX 136 setback for 144. Do you have a riser? My Viper with a 136 was MUCh easier to boondock with a taller setup. Still a little shy at 3", but better than stock. Other than what I've already mentioned, throttle control is KEY!! Tooo much, you're stuck. Too little, you're stuck LOL. Lot's of practice and watch others to pickup their technique

I'm running a studded hacksaw, so not much of a lug and no riser. What happens most is that she just slowly sinks her tail till the running boards won't allow for any traction. I am always able to keep my front end up even while carving. Maybe the conditions could have an effect on things. The top 6-8 inches was wet but the bottom 2-2.5 feet was sugar.

Practice is the only way I know of to improve. Modding the sled will help but any sled can be stuck no matter how long the track.