96 Xt 600, is it "finicky" with a pipe?

dnale

VIP Member
I've already got the pipe (Thanks Vmax4rules) and pretty much everything to make the swap to psi twins on my 600xt. I talked to a guy locally about skis and he asked me what else I was doing and I told him about the pipes. He was cautioning me about the pipes. He said the the 96 was very finicky with jetting after pipes are installed.

Is that true?

Do I still use the settings from Max Performance (the kit that came with the pipes)?

I don't have experience jetting and I don't get to work on the sled much, so I want to waste as little time as possible.

Thanks.

i have heard that about the 600 twins with pipes, that jetting is a bear. Seems a lot of people had trouble getting them to stop burning down. Jetting would seem way to rich sometimes, then would lean burn. May have a poor scavenging design for pipes...

so is it a particular brand or is it all pipes on these 96's?

Any suggestions? Like I said, I'm a novice when it would come to tuning the jetting.

Larry at NCY has done a few of these and had good success with the GYT Twins on the 96 pipes...I have the set up if you like...but yes they can be a hell.

Pipes

I had a 95 vmax600 with SLP pipes and used their instruction for clutching and jetting (you can find it on their website) and was very happy with the performance and the predictability of starting and running good.

So should I even try this? I've spent the money. I don't want to burn the motor up though. I know there is alot of knowledge out there....

it depends if you want to wring every last ounce of power out of that thing and sacrifice the reliability, which seems to be more of a problem on the 600 twin. There are other cheaper, easier, and more reliable mods you can do to that engine such as a thin headgasket, which makes a big difference. Clutching helps that engine huge as well, but dont clutch it until all of your power-enhancing mods are done