600 Twin - Looking for better throttle response

Sgtlange

Hey Everyone,

Lurker here with my first post. I picked up a 98 xtc 600 deluxe last year in pretty good shape. For this season i'm ready to tune it up and specifically looking for better acceleration. The sled currently dogs when I pin the throttle at low speeds. It doesn't bog the engine, it just doesn't have the response until mid - high range. I'm thinking of picking up the power up kit here - http://www.hauckpowersportsinc.com/pages/CustomCatalog/Product/1833. Is the kit worth it? or should I just look for the gasket and reeds separately? Does it need to run Premium after the gasket mod?

I'm pretty new to sleds but have been wrenching on two strokes for years. What about the clutch? Where to start for upgrades?

I'm also going to be going through a thorough maintenance like cleaning up the clutches, replacing the belt, clean the carbs and see what happens. The track is also shot so going to work on replacing that before the season really kicks off.

I've been reading through this forum for some time but have a tough time finding much info on these sleds. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

I had the same sled and i woke it up by doing the following mods. First was pick up a set of viper reeds and cages, they are a direct fit and work much better then stock. Then do the reed stopper notch to the reed fins. Easy to do with grinder and will get rid of the low to mid dead spot. http://www.totallyamaha.com/snowmobiles/aaTECH/ReedNotch/Reed_Notch.htm. Second was a simple clutch kit By a great sled guy turk Going with the turk set up for 600 twins. A 50/44 helix (micro belmont) green secondary spring at 60deg, and 8AB weights with 2.4g rivets in all holes. That little sled was peppy as could be with just those two mods. I never did the thinned gasket as i was afraid of bad gad. But lots of guys do it and have great luck, just run premium. You just remove the middle layer of the gasket.