96 Vmax XT issue

NHTodd

Hello everyone this is my first post here just found this forum tonight. Took my sled out for a rip and when I pinned it and turned right it seemed like the track would skip. Seemed like it was coming from under my right boot. This is the only way I know to describe this as I'm also new to snowmobiling as well. Gladly give any info I can just ask away.
Thanks in advance,
Todd W

I would first look at track tension and make sure it is correct. Check drive bearings on right and left sides. Make sure drive cogs/ drivers are intact.

I would first look at track tension and make sure it is correct. Check drive bearings on right and left sides. Make sure drive cogs/ drivers are intact.

Thank you will do. Now I have someplace to start. Did notice the right edge of the track has white threads sticking out on it. Figured I was going to have to replace the track this summer as it seemed a little beat when I got it but hopefully its that simple to fix the problem.

Hey, Fellow granite stater. check your belt also. hour glassed belts can feel that way too

if it is just threads coming out of the side of the track, you can just burn them off with a bbq lighter or torch. do it all the time to my sleds. helps to legnthen the track life.

check the speedo bearing 1st as when it fails it can cause the track to skip as well as the drivers being worn out. if it is good, you just need to re tension the track most likely as it probably stretched.