2000 vmax gauge problems

Wexcw

Hey guys.. I'm hoping I'm understanding and posting this in the right place lol if not I'm a rookie and I'm sorry!

I recently bought a new to me 2000 vmax 700.. everything on the machine works and it's in nice shape. However my tach and gas gauge aren't working. From reading on here I found the common fixes for the chaffed wiring and so on..i have been through the harness and checked all connectors and also tested all continuity. Everything in the wiring checks out good. I'm curious is someone can tell me if there's a proper way to test the gauge pod itself? An ohm reading or something? Any input would be great guys. Thanks!

Hey guys.. I'm hoping I'm understanding and posting this in the right place lol if not I'm a rookie and I'm sorry!

I recently bought a new to me 2000 vmax 700.. everything on the machine works and it's in nice shape. However my tach and gas gauge aren't working. From reading on here I found the common fixes for the chaffed wiring and so on..i have been through the harness and checked all connectors and also tested all continuity. Everything in the wiring checks out good. I'm curious is someone can tell me if there's a proper way to test the gauge pod itself? An ohm reading or something? Any input would be great guys. Thanks!

Move to the correct forums.

If your machine has electric start, and the battery dies or is removed, your tachometer will no longer work.

Oh man I feel dumb..i bet that's it..it come with a dead battery in it and I haven't gotten to buying one for it yet..ill swap one into it tomorrow and see what happens when I get it back together. It's in my shop now I was going over it and checking it all over.. silencer was already bored out but the reed notches weren't done so I'm gonna do those while it's in there.

If I recall, my fuel gauge also stopped working when I pulled my battery. More then likely this is your problem with your tack and fuel gauges.