2003 vmax600 tripple 9000rpm?

Cdslant

Hello I'm new to this amazing machine, I took her out for a drive and a WOT she revs at like 9100+.

I heard i might need to change my secondary spring setting. Can anyone tell me how to do that or at least point me in a good direction...

Do i have to take the secondary cover bolts off ect?...

Yes you need to remove both clutches and take off all 6 primary 10 mm bolts off and the secondary 3 x12mm nuts off. Just be caution as these are spring loaded. Though nothing that a prepared set of hands can't handle. Clean and inspect both in detail. Post pictures so we can help you better

Last edited:
Ok I'm gonna tackle it hopefully tomorrow, can I just leave the secondary on the sled or do u recommend removing.

Remove it. It's only a 14mm aluminum bolt that secures it.

Btw you need a puller to remove your primary off the crankshaft's taper

Last edited:
I do not have a puller and am going on a trip wed night so this sleds gotta be back together and working for the trip.ugh I also have to put the rear skid back in.

Clean and make sure everything is free and not binding. If that doesn’t work,You will need to add heavier rivets to primary weights, at the tips.

Last edited:
I didn't think they made a vmax in 2003? Doesn't sound right. I do not see a vmax listed in the tech pages for 2003. Is it an SXR?
It is much less efficient to try to impact rpm with the secondary, you always want to adjust peak rpm by adding or removing weights from the tip of the primary arms.
Need to figure out exactly what year and sled you have so peak rpm can be looked up. Get a puller for the primary. Clean both clutches (lots of info on this site on how to do it). If a lot of miles I would consider a new primary spring, a sacked spring will cause issues.