Snowmobile Rookie, 700 triple acquired.

DanBeck85

Long story short, I've never owned a sled before. I'm 35. I have restored a couple cars and two vintage Harley's, so I'm pretty mechanically inclined. I am brand new to the snowmobile world though. After researching, I new I wanted a Yamaha 700 triple. I found a killer deal on a 98, with 4770 miles on it. $850 US. It runs, but admittedly the guy said it has sat for two years.

I joined the forum because I know this is where I will get the most accurate information. Where do I start? I don't want to assume everything is good, because it runs, and obviously I don't want to wait for winter to take it on the snow and find out it needs worked over, and miss the whole season. So, where should I start, or what are the most obvious things to do? I'm going to change all the fluids, lube everything that needs lubed, but what advice do you have for a complete and total snowmobile rookie?

Any help is appreciated! Thank you!

I would start with a basic compression test, you should be somewhere around the 120 PSI range.
What your looking for is all holes to be within a couple psi of each other.
Then, I would pull the carb rack off.
Pull all jets out, needles, seats, ect.
Clean
I like to replace needles and seats when I get a new to me sled.

Hi Dan,

Welcome to the forum. This site has many many members who have seen it all. Ask away and you can get all the help you need. Keep in mind its August and not many members are here until the fall.