Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: 2003 SX Viper won't run below 2000rpm

  1. #11
    Senior Member Stock Srx007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Cambridge Ontario
    Posts
    157


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kurick View Post
    Ok boys. Swapped carbs from good running Viper. Runs the same. While keeping it running at 2000rpm, I sprayed ether at both crankshaft seals and all the carb boots. No change in rpm. Put the carbs from the Viper that doesn't idle onto the other, runs like a top. It's like the ignition is being cut below 2000...
    Fuel filter?

  2. #12
    Senior Member Open Mod bluewho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Caledon ontario
    Posts
    1,994


    Default

    Well that rules out the carbs lol if it cuts out like the key is being shut off there is a tor behind the gas flipper might be stuck and try unplugging headlight tac and stuff.
    98 srx 700 doo sc10 3 ported.spi pistons.wide bars. wide frontend.1"preditor.160 golddiggers.
    98 srx 600 doo too
    2001srx700 doo sc10 3
    90 phazor
    90 exciter ported wide frontend adjustable shocks


    THEY SAY HE'S A MONSTER THIS BOY NAMED BLUE
    HE CAN RIDE LIKE A DEMON ON ONE SKI OR TWO

  3. #13


    Default

    change plugs just because its easy, or maybe check the wire harness for rub throughs

  4. #14
    VIP Member sideshowBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northwestern Ontario
    Posts
    2,140


    Default

    Your 2004 Viper should have DCS so unfortunately you can’t swap CDI boxes
    You could swap the spark plug wire boots... maybe you will get lucky.
    I am wondering about a couple things:
    - stator
    - CDI
    - Piston/ring damage
    - crank bearings

  5. #15
    VIP Member sideshowBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northwestern Ontario
    Posts
    2,140


    Default

    If you remove the belt does the problem still exist?

  6. #16
    Senior Member Open Mod bluewho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Caledon ontario
    Posts
    1,994


    Default

    Hey bob is it possible to run some jumpers to check stator output when running and stalling ?
    98 srx 700 doo sc10 3 ported.spi pistons.wide bars. wide frontend.1"preditor.160 golddiggers.
    98 srx 600 doo too
    2001srx700 doo sc10 3
    90 phazor
    90 exciter ported wide frontend adjustable shocks


    THEY SAY HE'S A MONSTER THIS BOY NAMED BLUE
    HE CAN RIDE LIKE A DEMON ON ONE SKI OR TWO

  7. #17
    VIP Member sideshowBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Northwestern Ontario
    Posts
    2,140


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluewho View Post
    Hey bob is it possible to run some jumpers to check stator output when running and stalling ?
    Not that I am aware of..

  8. #18
    Senior Member Open Mod MURDER YAMAHA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Minot ND
    Posts
    1,329


    Default

    Sounds almost like a cracked pulse line to the fuel pump.
    Check that line closely that runs from the crankcase to the fuel pump.
    If is has a small crack, it may only have enough suction to run the fuel pump at higher rpm.
    -------------------------
    1997 Yamaha XTC
    700 Redhead, Mr. Viper ported, CPR pipes, SRX reeds, Heelclickers, Dual bulb, LT Ohlins

    1997 700 SX
    Thinned head gasket, Gutted Airbox, Reed Spacers, Bender Pipes, Viper Shocks, 51/43 helix 89L weights

    2004 Viper S
    SLP pipes, peak performance head,

    2001 SRX 700
    Power Inc. Pipes, Loaded 8DN20's, Hauck Y 51/45

    1997 Mountain Max 700
    Black XTC Hood, Thinned Head Gasket, Gutted Air Box, Reed Stopper Notch, SLP Pipes

  9. #19
    Junior Member Mini
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    7


    Default

    -When i swapped the coils i used the coils, wires, and plugs from the 2004.
    -Ran without the belt, same thing.
    -Have not checked the suction fuel filter.
    -When i did compression test i had the carbs out so i put the 3 hoses from the fuel pump into solo cups because they were pumping a lot of gas into the belly pan.
    Thanks for the info about the CDI and DCS, i didn't know they would be different. Should a guy swap stators?

    Thanks for your time guys.

  10. #20
    Junior Member Mini
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    7


    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluewho View Post
    Well that rules out the carbs lol if it cuts out like the key is being shut off there is a tor behind the gas flipper might be stuck and try unplugging headlight tac and stuff.
    TOR switch under the throttle lever? I'll check it out! Will unplug headlights and tach as well.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •