Power Valve: How to tell if it's fully open and "rounded scraper"

Yiotta

Hello...noob here...thanks for the excellent resource. I'll contribute what I can but owning a 2002 I'd think most everything is sufficiently covered here already.

I just bought a 2002 SXV with 5K+ miles and I'm geeking out this morning reading up on it's tech and maintenance.
I'm not actually performing maintenance now because the previous owner was meticulous with it so I'm just making sure I know exactly how to do common tasks before I undertake them.

I've been looking for over an hour here, google and youtube and can't find the answer so here goes.

1. Regarding YPVS adjustment: I found the Service Manual Supplement and some PV posts that mentions when adjusting "...the YPVS valve should be fully open"
But no where has anything told me how to determine if it's fully open or not.

My assumption is that when the 2.5mm allen keys are snug behind the valve housing, assume the port is fully open so button up that YPVS and move on to the next one.

I hate assumptions, so is this all I need to do or is there a way of actually verifying the valve is fully open that I haven't come across yet?

2. 'Rounded scraper': when cleaning up the PVs, the manual mentions to use a rounded scraper. The manual diagram makes it look like a wood chisel. OUCH...not on curved aluminum.