Triple Redheads

Johnny20

What’s the main attractions to the Triple Redheads in the sledding world? I’ve got a 98 Venture 700 Triple in very good condition mechanically and appearance, and get a lot of riders (typically the over 45 crowd) that come look it over and all of them ask “is it a Redhead”? They love the sound and I’ve even been asked if they can rev the throttle haha! With all the new sleds out nowadays, there seems to be a lot of appeal for those sleds and I was wondering what it is about them, I’m not a mechanic. It’s almost cult like. Does it add value to the sled or is it primarily nostalgic appeal? I put new skis and track on it to improve its response but still have the factory skis that I kept in case I ever did sell it and the new owners wanted original stuff and they all tell me to to absolutely keep them.
Thanks, just wondering about the attraction.

Arguably the most reliable 2-stroke sled motor Yamaha ever made. For pure sound the SRX (power valves and triple pipes) sounds better, or a piped Viper. But all of the Yamaha triples have an excellent sound IMO.

I have the 99 Venture 700 triple. It's that ripping triple sound and the reliability that they are known for not to mention the impressive gas mileage. I also regulatly run a 91 Phazer ST and it is amazing how people will skip past all the new sleds just to see it and ask questions about how well it performs as well.

Ya, I get a lot of guys looking at it too and tell me way more about them than I know. It’s interesting to hear them talk about their triples. One thing that is common with snowmobilers is they will freely share helpful information with each other and it’s pretty cool to hear how different riders trick out their sleds past and present.

Thanks for your responses!