change chain case oil??

ottercreeks

OK, i have never done this before so i have a few questions, I am starting to do my own maintenance on my sleds and i want to change the chain case oil

sled
2003 Vmax 600er

My first question, is there and where is the drain plug?

second is there anything else i should do at this time?

sled is running fine and this is just regular maintenace. Thanks in advance

Welcome aboard...have you tried the search feature here...if so, then you have the most up to date info you need...however you may need a little help from time to time, just ask...most will chime right in. If you reach under the floorboard right under the chaincase area inside the tunnel I "think 10mm", you will feel two or more bolts. One is the drain bolt the other is a 12mm. you should drain it at room temp; & then you replace drainbolt-make sure not to overtighten...add new oil, through the dipstick & yes there will be gum/gunk on the dipstick-wipe it clean, yes there is a magnet at the end of the D/S to catch the shavings off the gears & chain-ahh??? what type of oil you say...lots of opinion here on this subject on this site, most will put you in the right direction. I however use amsoil auto syn. trany oil & change it out every 30 days during the season=2 to 3 times...cheap & easy to do, with peace of mind... ;)!

theblues sumed it up good as always,i'll just add i like removing the chain cover and rinsing the chain/housing down with break clean to remove
all the crap and old oil,then i re fill with a full synthetic 75w90 gear
oil(amsoil)..

nice sled you got there,you'll get many many years outa it. :wel:

Yea i heard ATF was alright to use, but i just go out and buy amsoil Chaincase oil... I use amsoil everything in my sled.