9k RPM...Clutching questions

Viper Bush

I recently installed a Bender 4x4 pipe on an otherwise completely stock 02 SX Viper. (I do also have a rear HX off an SRX for added cooling). I've noticed my RPM's are now 9k when WOT. I'm not sure if it's the extra noise, but the sled seems to pull alot harder, especially on the low end.

I have a couple of questions in regards to the 9k RPM...I've heard 8500-8600 RPM is considered the "sweet spot" for the Vipers...

Is it safe to run this sled at 9k all day long an not expect any issues?

I am very new to clutching. I know the sled is making a bit more power with the new pipe, hence the 4-500 RPM increase and that I need to re-clutch to utilize the new found power. Any recommendations on a clutch setup? I'm a complete clutch newb. Is it safe to ride with it reving so high??

Thanks all!
- Bush

Last edited:

its not gonna explode or anything but it will run even better at 8600rpm, youll need to add some weight to the tips of your clutch weights.

use a 4.5 rivet in the tips of them.

Thanks for the reply, but as I mentioned, I have no clutch tuning experience. If I wanted to add weight to the tips, do I need an aftermarket clutch kit, like Heel Clickers, to be able to do this? Really looking for someone to tell me what I need to buy and I'll be able to figure out the install lol

Thanks again!

I thought all stock Viper's over reved to 9000?

You should try the clutch setup in the TY tech pages. Green secondary spring with 53/43 Helix.. I just had this done and she pulls good and I have the bender 4x4 pipe and bender can as well ) Revs to 8500-8600RPM now.

Thanks for the reply, but as I mentioned, I have no clutch tuning experience. If I wanted to add weight to the tips, do I need an aftermarket clutch kit, like Heel Clickers, to be able to do this? Really looking for someone to tell me what I need to buy and I'll be able to figure out the install lol

Thanks again!