New to the TY Forums!

ShineG8GT

Hey guys,
I'm new to TY...been lurking for a while now since I bought my '02 Viper back in October. I own an '08 Pontiac G8 GT (hence my username) and now I own another toy to have fun with during the winter months!
I've been out of the sport of snowmobiling for about 10 years until buying my Viper this winter. My previous sled was a '94 Vmax 600 Twin, so the Viper is certainly an upgrade!

I finally got the chance to get a significant trail ride in here last weekend (now they're closed). I enjoyed riding the Viper, a very fast trail sled, but needless to say, it left my back battered and bruised!
Does anyone have any recommendation on a rear suspension setup/upgrade? I've read some of the posts about the M10, but that's not really in the budget for me (looking to spend <$500).
What are my options as far as newer skids that will fit in the Viper and what mounting parts would I need to find to make said skid work? Also, if someone could point me to some DIY articles for the swap, that would be helpful! But I mainly need to start with the parts I need first.
Thanks in advance!

polaris edge (what i personally have), doo scIII (and up), yamaha monoshock are the top choices as far as bang/buck/ease of installation imo. Because there are so many mounting point variations from the doo skids it can be difficult getting the proper dimensions for a swap.

I've got a ski doo skid I'd sell for $50, came out of a 96 formula z, not sure if it's an scII or scIII

I believe that would be a sc-10. I had a 97 Mxz that had the same suspension.

I would also check your shocks and make sure they are setup to you. And they are not warn out.