kinda dumb question...

bluelightning

hey all,
as some of you may know, im a newbie to sleds, and was wondering a kinda dumb/simple question.....how the heck to you get the belt off? has a new one on it when i bought it, but was just wondering for when im going to have to....poked around a bit on here, but maybe its just too common sense for anyone to post it and im just not figuring it out?:oops:

Not a dumb question. Set the parking brake. Remove the clutch cover. With your right hand grasping the angled helix on the secondary (outside of the clutch), push in on it while your twisting it clockwise. Basically, you're trying to open the sheaves of the secondary. As soon as you twist and open the sheave a bit, with your other hand (left) work the belt up and over the outside sheave from about the 12 o'clock position down to the 4 o'clock position. This should be a sufficient amount of belt being worked over the sheave to allow you to remove it completely. Once it's removed from the secondary, you can then remove it from the primary.

Hope this helps...........don't forget the parking brake is still on.

Jon

haha must have been a dumb question to everyone else! thanks for the quick answer ill have to give it a try tonight

Ecopter's way always works, but sometimes you can pop the clutch guard off, grab the belt between the primary and secondary, yank up hard, which will force the belt into the secondary which will open it. Now just take the belt off the secondary, starting at 12:00 and go clockwise...

grapeape said:
Ecopter's way always works, but sometimes you can pop the clutch guard off, grab the belt between the primary and secondary, yank up hard, which will force the belt into the secondary which will open it. Now just take the belt off the secondary, starting at 12:00 and go clockwise...

Thats what i do. Takes about 20 seconds to change a belt.

Grasshoppa'...the only dumb question is the one not asked....ponder that...