Rail extension and paddle track upgrade ?

kennif

Hi all, I'm new to this great site. Recently aquired my brothers 00' SX600R from MN. I live in CO and want to get this thing modified for mountain riding. It's stock right now and I've been looking into the options as far a as rail extensions: TracksUSA, Hartman. Was looking for anybodythat does mtn. riding and has done this conversion/mod. Also looking for additional info on tunnel clearance and what's easiest and best. Looking to put a 2" paddle on and I understand I have to go to the 8 tooth drive gear, but what I also need info on are the chassis risers. Can you install longer drops from factory location or do you need to relocate them?
Your input and info is much appreciated.

hartman, bar none, is your best choice. yes, you will have to drop to 8 tooth drivers. hartmans kit comes with drop brackets, relocates the skid down and back. if your posess the necessary skills, you can do the relocate yourself and just pick up some rail extensions. 141" minimun. 144" better. also think about narrowing front stance. i have done several long track conversions using relocations. also, clutching and gearing will come into play.

go with hartmans 151" and do not forget anti-ratchet drivers, lower gearing while it is apart. Next time my sled is in Lafayette I'll try to e-mail you so you can see the set up first hand.

rangerider said:
I think 151" might be to much for a stock 600 I'd go 144"

I was thinking about the better floatation in the deep powder out here. He may be a little down on power but with lower gearing should be fine. A lot of the best riding around here is big rolling meadows with snow over the hood and tree bashing from one meadow to the next where power and track speed does not matter that much.