1980 Srx 440 flatslide carb ?

oldsledhead

Hi guys I'm new to this site and I'm trying to get some help with my new 80 Srx I just purchased. I bought the sled a week ago and its fully restored,but hasn't really been run since restoration 5 yrs ago. Motor was rebuilt from top to bottom and only driven once in a field since. My question is the sled has flatslide mikunis on it and I'm Leary of the jet sizes in them. Main jet 147.5 piolet 47.5. I have no experience with flatslides and was wondering if jetting is different than roundslides? I do have the stock carbs to but seemed like someone put some time into making these work. I just don't want to damage a fresh motor. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

the flatslide carbs use a differnt number system on the jets then the round slide carbs which use a hex jet, your current jetting crossed over to roundslide numbers would be around a 280 main jet.

mrviper700 said:
the flatslide carbs use a differnt number system on the jets then the round slide carbs which use a hex jet, your current jetting crossed over to roundslide numbers would be around a 280 main jet.

at 280 main what size flat slide carbs ................36 or 38 regard less i would say the pilots are spot on but the mains are too small i do not have the conversion chart in front of me but i am thinking at least a 150 main maybe a 155 when i ran tm 38 mm on my srx i was jetted at 340 with dial a jets set to full rich (for winter in 0 degree weather) but these carbs use std hex jets where the yamaha flats use small round mains my stock phazer with a dg pipe for trail riding has 147.5's and my mod phazer with yamaha 38 flats with my motor work and rpc pipe runs 150 mains and a srx will want more fuel with a phazer

Thanks guys for the info. I will start at 155 then and go from there. Yamaha Nutz did the flatslides perform well for you? Thanks