Limiter Strap settings for mountain riding

Mudrunner

Hey guys- I'm relatively new to snowmobiling but after last years experience, I am hooked!! I picked up a 97 mm700 and have spent the summer tweakin it for the new season. My question is where to set my shocks and limiter straps to best suit me in the mountains. I mainly ride Mt Baker and spend 90% of the time boondocking in the powder and hill climbing. I'm a fairly large guy at 250lbs and 6' tall. I would really appreciate your input. ;)!
AJ

Straps all the way out, keep the front end light (lots of preload on the centre shock, less on the back)

Thanks Guys-

I slacked them all the way and set my upper shock preload high and the back shock preload low. I'm dying to try it out. I can see fresh snow on Baker this morning. :WayCool:

Where do you recommend the front spring preload to be?

well I have different opinion on this one. by letting your straps all the way out you maximize weight transfer, this does lighten your front end, but causes a great deal of trenching on your sled. Your approach angle or angle of attack as your track meets the snow is also going to be steeper thus making it more difficult to get up ontop of the snow when you launch.

This is what i did to try and get the best of both worlds. Upgrade to a 151, ditch the 141, suck my straps all the way in, loosest setting on front shocks (I upgraded to long travel shocks off an SXR), the longer shocks lifted the nose of the sled bout 3", in the skid I dropped the FRA (full rate adjuster) to the bottom (softest setting) and middle preload on the center and rear shock.

Works for me, 6' 200lbs, aggressive riding, mostly hillclimb and powder playin when i can find the fresh stuff.

You need to ride it first, learn what each change to your rear skid will do for you cuz there are lots of options.

Thanks for the responses. I realize more than ever that I am still a newbie.