Track width question for 99' Venture 500

Coloradogoose

I just picked up a 99' Venture 500 that I'm getting set-up to do some light weight grooming next winter. (Grooming for fat tire mountain bikes, so small groomers with little resistance) The track is in awful shape and from the reading I've done it looks like I may be able to put a 16x136" track on it to increase grip. I'm wondering what mods I might have to do to make a 16" track fit. The drivers have been changed to 8t from the 9t stock (from what I was told), otherwise it's stock all over. Also, it appears that 1.25" lugs would work fine as everything sits. Will the additional width cause a problem with lug height? Any recommendations on tracks for this purpose? There will be plenty of powder when we track the trail in, and then we will groom. Won't ride on groomed trail much, and want the lugs to be very sturdy. I don't care about speed AT ALL.
FWIW I'm pretty new to sleds. I groomed this year on a 1975 Ski-doo Olympique 300. It worked, but I am ready to get on something more fit for the job. I've been playing with motorcycles and Jeeps for years, so I'm handy, but have a lot to learn about sleds.

Last edited:

A 136x16 should fit but it might be close. But a 136x15 should get the job done for what you are doing. Either way you go its a big improvement over the Olympique.
I'm sure someone else will chime in with some more answers.
Welcome to the site

There is no way a 16 in track will fit. My 15 in track on my 2000 Venture has a very little wiggle room.

Last edited: