Reed spacers installation

Hi A couple of buck!!!! thank you for the assistance. I looked at both links and just a bit confused about the carbontech one, I see 3 different 370LT reeds..... which one?

and then I see 235LT reed for vmax 97-99..... which one exactly you are suggesting for my application? sorry for all the questions, I am new to that!

and what does the reed change or how does it change something? Is it because it give a bigger amount of gas/air mixture in the combustion chamber...?

370LTs are 370LTs. Wether it goes in a 600 SRX,700 SRX or a Viper.
If you get some SRX/VIPER cages, the 370LTs is what you will need to fit onto the SRX/VIPER cages.
The 235LTs will fit in your existing Vmax cages.
The SRX/VIPER cages are somewhere @ 10% wider and allow more O2 to enter the combustion chamber. They drop right in w/o any modification.
The two stainless stops you’ll have to order for the notch will fit either your present cage(Vmax) or the SRX/VIPER cages. As the stops are exactly the same or either the Vmax or SRX/Viper. I will only notch the stainless ones for longevity reasons.
SRX cages w/ CarbonTech reeds in a twin is a fan-friggin-tastic combination.:rockon:;)!

Post #53 for a picture of a notched reed stop.
https://totallyamaha.net/showthread...-throttle-response/page2?highlight=Notch mildP

Last edited:
Well I just called CarbonTech up. And they do offer a 270LT. Same exact reeds as the 370LTs but only 2 sets instead of 3 sets. The 3 in 370 means 3 sets(triple cyl). The 2 in 270 means 2 sets(twin cyl). So in a Vmax4, the reeds are a 444LT. The first #4 signifies 4 sets for its 4 cylinders.
I did not realize that 270LTs were offered. They also fit in a Yamaha TZ250. I only searched on their snowmobile page.
270s are 1/3 cheaper than 370s because there are 1/3 less reeds. Twin cyl vs triple cyl.

Last edited:
wow :rocks:

thank you soo much for the assistance and information!!!! I am definitely getting it and will look that post you referred me to.