viper er rpm drop from 8500 to 8000

SHARKATTAK

it seems i am loosing 500 rpms, when i hammer the flipper it take right off holds 8500 but then it is dropping back to 8000, here is my set-up dalton blue/black w/ 8dn-2o, 4.5 in each hole in primary, secondary silver at 90, carbs cleaned no bog, bender pipes carbs have 167.5 main jets, 52.5 pilot, 2 turns out, power valves are cleaned and set right, track is hacksaw 1" x121 144 1.075 gold diggers, expert -x suspension, stock gearing,condition on ice hard snow about 2 in. i was going to try a 80 wrap, then 70, then 60 today, any help would be great thanks

i think (the way i'm seeing it, but i'm no clutch expert by any means) the more you loosen the wrap the worse it will probably be, the less tension you put on the spring the secondary will shift out further faster lowering your rpms even more

Try this

I'm unable to really tell you exactly what to do because I don't know exactly when your RPM's are dropping....ie at 20 mph or at 70 mph. But it sounds like the problem is that you are overshifting. It's true above that less wrap on the secondary spring is going to make the problem worse. Since you are already using a silver secondary spring I'd have to say it's likely that your helix is a little to steep combined with the fact that 4.5 grams in both holes might be a little much weight for a stock viper motor. If you tell me what helix you are using I'll be able to give you info on which way to go. I'd guess that you wouldn't want to be any steeper than say a 51/45. Let me know & I'll check back.

Madmatt

PS: For the record, my 780 viper wouldn't pull that much weight in the primary but I was also spinning 9100 RPM's so that makes a pretty big difference.

Last edited:
are you still running the stock 47 straight helix? just like madmatt said, seems to me that you're overshifting. let us know what helix you got now, and we can point you in the right direction.

Primary