Drive axle bearing???behind speedo???

nick5oh

Got a 99SRX, speedo pooched, wanna change the bearing(whatever it's called) while I'm in there, I know the bearing can be the cause of the speedo failure. The speedo gear housing cap has popped off and is MIA. thats all I know so far.
Question is....can I get at this bearing from the clutch side of the sled? Or do I need to go underneath? I know I need to remove the speedo housing and cable, then I should be able to see the bearing right? 3 set screws and yank the bearing off the axle right?
Should I go into the chain case and change that end bearing as well? The chain case oil is pretty dirty. Don't see a drain plug so I assume the case cover has to be removed to drain the oil? Mine as well change the axle bearing (or whatever you call it) while I have the case cover off right?
Basically looking for instruction on how to do this stuff....I'm an automotive mechanic so I'm not a full blown retard about to butcher a sweet sled lol, just looking for some tricks/guidance. Thanks guys!

so if the speedo housing has popped off, you should already be seeing part of the bearing as those 3 12mm wrench needing nuts are gone that secure the housing.

you need to loosen the track, go underneath and loosen the set screws on the bearing and while your under there look behind the chaincase in the tunnel and you will find the drain bolt for the chaincase(also needs a 12mm wrench).

you can change the clutch side drive shaft bearing no problem without opening the chain case unless its stuck to the driveshaft. if your concerned about the chaincase side, you will have to remove lots more parts as that bearing is pressed into the case.

can you be a bit more clear on that thing you said about the "speedo gear housing popped off"? that really doesnt happen in my experience.

That bearing has a collar. I've always removed chaincase and pulled it out underneath. Think it's the only way