700 triple sputtering ?

Vector88

i have a venture 700 triple I recently picked up. When driving it 0-40 kph the engine purs like a kitten but between 40 to 70 kph it sputters like I have to play with the throttle to clear it up. It sounds like it comes into a deep sputter or bog. Over 70kph is clears up again. My friend who has a 600 triple mountain max told me those nine are like that and it's very common. Do anyone know what I can do to get rid of the way it's acting? Carbs were cleaned very recently and were all adjusted. I'm new to those engine I've had sxviper 700 in the past and those engines wasn't like this. Any info would be great thank you.

Last edited:

Check to make sure the choke plungers on the carbs are closing all the way when the choke is lever if off. Maybe its adjusted to tight, or not lubed.

I'll look at the choke adjustment tonight and check if the choke clears it up. I found the proper term of what she's is doing. It burbles if that makes sense to anyone.

the needles may be too high - check the position of the clip and washers (top of carbs)

burble is usually caused by too much fuel and more commonly encountered at idle or low rpms

on a stock redhead engine, and stock I mean no airbox mods or peeled headgaskets, they had a burble and mid low speeds.You can remedy it easily by simply removing the plastic shim under the needle clip , leave metal clip in the stock 3 rd groove down from top, just put it(plastic shim) on top of the metal clip along with other plastic shim that's already on there and it will cure the burble on a STOCK sled. They were just a tad too rich on the needle settings stock.