99 Vmax SX 600 Clutching setup

befarrer

I picked up this 99 Vmax SX with the 600 triple last spring. I got 1 ride in to see how it performed before the snow melted. The biggest issue I had was Clutching, it felt smooth, but overreved, I could get over 9500rpm at full throttle at any speed, I kept driving at reduced throttle to keep rpms below 8700 or so. The sled has higher mileage 14,000km, but is in great shape, spent most of its life as a trail sled by an older gentleman who didn't go full throttle. I am not sure if my Clutching is due to worn springs, or incorrect setup. The sled has a 136 track extension with 1.25" lugs I think. I just inspected the clutches, they are not worn or sticking. But it has the following setup:

Primary has 8DG-00 weights with a rivet at the top only, and an all orange spring. Secondary has a Bender 9960 helix (51/47), and a black spring with 1 pink spot, in the #9 position on the helix and #1 hole on the clutch.

I am fairly new to Clutching, but I think my fault lies in the secondary clutch. My riding will be local central Alberta, no mountains, trail, field, and ditch riding. There isn't much info on the setup page for 600's, other than some mountain max sleds, which would have different gearing, and I'm assuming the longer more aggressive track makes a difference over stock too.

Last edited:

i would start with a new primary spring 1st as they do get weak over time. then i would add tip weight to get it down to desired rpms. these sleds over rev from factory and needed adjusting back then. sounds like some one has done some clutching to it as the rpm's you are seeing is what one with tripple pipes would usually tac out to.

Would I be fine setting up primary clutch to factory settings? Even though it has a longer and grippier track.