Noob clutch question

Drwe

I got my 98 vmax 700 xtc out on a 200km rip this week. I noticed it was very fast from a dig or 20-40mph when smashing the throttle, it would rev up to 8300-8600, but usually around 8500 depending on what I assume was the traction situation at the time (I'm not studded).

However, it would quickly come down and hold at 8000 rpm after some speed maybe 60-80mph, or in that range and have less power. Smashing the throttle from that 60-80mph speed only sends it up to around 8000 rpm, give or take.

I'm still learning about how these cvt drives work, I know I have a red (doubtful it would be pink) spring in the secondary set to 60degrees. As far as I know the stock spring would have been green which would have provided more backshift, I could change the secondary to 70 degrees and experiment.

As an aside, I'm getting about 45L/100km on the trails, I'm not sure if that is typical. I'm not sure how changing backshift would change fuel consumption.

Maybe try your setting at 90 twist, see if that takes care of it if you dont have a green spring to try.
Do you still have the 45 degree helix?

If its a 45, there would be a 5 in the part number thats stamped on the outside of the helix.
Try it at 90 and see how it reacts.

If its a 45, there would be a 5 in the part number thats stamped on the outside of the helix.
Try it at 90 and see how it reacts.
picture from before I cleaned and rebuilt the clutch this year, but I see "50" on it. I will try 90 deg as you suggest.

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    195 KB · Views: 6
All those 700 red heads in those years were known for over-revving in the lower speed range, and then under revving at higher speeds.
The best fix is a clutch kit, however if you you find a helix that the RX-1 and Apex used, it is a 51-43 and would solve a lot of your shift issues.
You want that thing to stay at 85-8700 for best speed.
You may have to lighten the weights also if you use a 51-43