Over Revving After Belt Change

JKohut

Hey all, I'm new to the site and Yamaha ownership.

I bought a 1998 Vmax xtcp 700 earlier this winter and so far have been having a blast with it.

I went to head out for a ride this morning and after checking on the belt I found that it had seen better days so I decided to change it. After changing the belt (new belt is a 8dn-17641-01) the sled is now revving up to 8000rpm just to go 60km/h. 0-4500ish rpm feels about normal then after that it just revs higher without picking up speed.

I checked belt deflection and attached a picture of what I saw. It looks maybe a little low but nothing too dramatic. I'm new to working on sleds so I combed through the forum and found someone with a similar issue but no documented solution so just wanted to throw it out there for ideas and assistance.

Everything worked fine prior to changing the belt, the previous belt did not have any markings left but is the same width & length as the new one. As far as I know, everything is stock.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• _storage_emulated_0_Android_data_com.adobe.reader_files_Pictures_Adobe Acrobat Exports_com.goo...jpg
    _storage_emulated_0_Android_data_com.adobe.reader_files_Pictures_Adobe Acrobat Exports_com.goo...jpg
    556.2 KB · Views: 5

Was the old belt a 8CH belt?
I'm not sure there was no markings left on it, it's the same width and length as the new one. I don't know enough about these belts to say for sure without markings

Edit: I just cleaned it up the old one is also a 8DN same as the new one

Last edited:
might have been an old 8dn-17641-00 witch was slightly wider than the -01. might need to remove some tip weight to get the proper 8500 rpm that yamaha tripples like to be at.

might have been an old 8dn-17641-00 witch was slightly wider than the -01. might need to remove some tip weight to get the proper 8500 rpm that yamaha tripples like to be at.