Yamaha Vmax700 sx 98' mountain mods

J@ckrabbit

Hello everyone from Greece! We're snowboarding with this sled for the last years(previous owner pulling us uphill). I'm a newbie in snowmobiling and i need your help. Read a lot of good posts and answers in here, you guys are scientists. I'm not sure if i have to go the extra mile or leave the yammie "as is", and stop throwing money in a big hole, like my friends tell me. Cant find parts in europe easily, and everything is so expensive.

Got a hard-used 98 vmax700 sx 121 track(1inch with studs)-no pipes from my friend, and decided to keep it and make it more mountain friendly. The machine has 4800miles and starts with 2nd-3rd pull but everything else needed a refresh. Don't want to jump or boondocking, but i would appreciate some climbing skill in extreme conditions(my definition of extreme)- deep powder(2 feet) with max 40% slopes - if its feasible. Will be running at 5000ft to 8600 max altitude(never tuned for altitude) as well.

So, what i've done so far: replaced arm trails(old ones where fixed and super heavy), straightened out the rod ties and replaced rose joints, 4 new bogies, all bearings, new front suspension(olds where frozen - larger travel by 2 inches and used the old springs),new rear suspension(short one-also frozen), replaced some cut rivets with inox screws, fixed and painted plastic parts, new sliders and got myself a holeshot and a pair of slydog 7inch skis.

a.JPGb.JPGd.JPGe.JPG

I think this track, still has some juice, but besides some torn lugs(mostly in the outer), i see this cut/line between studs. The placement of studding, obviously was trimming down bogies as well.

Do you think that is should keep this track, just for a season in order to learn how to ride or change immediately?

c.JPG f.JPGx.JPGz.JPGxx.JPGxxx.JPG