another kinda dumb question....

bluelightning

hey all,

like i've said, im a newbie here, and have another kinda dumb sled question.........

how do you know when a plug is fouled? i've heard it thrown around all the time, and know it has somethin to do with too much fuel or somethin lol. but what exactly does it mean? and what are the symptoms of it? just so i know in the future ya know?

Power goes way down, the plug will refuse to spark enough to ignight the gas. Basically you begin running on only two cylinders. The sound will also change. Stop and pull the plug it usually will be very wet, gas soaked. The bad cylinder will usually be colder than the others since it wasn't firing. Usually happens on start up, trying to warm the sled up. Put a new plug in and usually your all set. If you pull the plug and it is damaged or has alumimum sprayed all over it you have a piston problem. Pull the belt off and tow it home.

If you foul a lot of plugs then you probably need to clean the carbs. Its easy to do, and being new at this. You should pull them and clean them anyway. There is a section in the Tech that will help you through it. Not hard to do and will help insure your running strong and safe.

Last edited:
I was fouling a ton of plugs on my Viper and somebody told me not to use the kill switch, to turn engine off with key. Ever since, no fouled plugs. Coincidence or a fluke, it worked for me.

The biggest thing on Yamaha's in order to not foul plugs is starting procedure. Start the sled on full choke, as soon as it starts go to half choke for 5-7 seconds, then turn it off. If the sled begins to sputter after a few seconds give it another shot of half choke for a few seconds. Do this until the sled runs on its own. Under any circumstances DO NOT TOUCH THE THROTTLE until the sled has been running for at least 5 minutes, or you will foul a plug for sure.

yamaholic22 said: