Just bought an '02 viper

First Yammy

I am new to the world of yamaha, and relatively new to sledding (last machine was a indy 400) and have just bought an '02 SX Viper 700. The sled has 4300 mi. but is in excellent condition, as far as I can tell. I ride dirt bikes and 4 wheelers pretty hard, and I can't see it changing with this sled. The previous owner was very particular with it, but I'm wondering if he may have neglected some maintenace steps due to the fact that he had a new sled ordered. If you guys could give me some pointers on what to look for and maybe some small tunning tips ( as I have no more money, this year anyway, for big bolt on mods) it would be greatly appreciated.

It's a great sled, you'll love it. Post a picture. Here's my 2002 now with over 10,000 miles, engine untouched other than maintainence. Going to do the seals pistons & rings this fall.

Attachments

• 10K 2002 Viper.JPG
    10K 2002 Viper.JPG
    141.4 KB · Views: 15
:wel: From a fellow Canadian!

If you haven't been through the tech section of TY(I think I have a link in my sig), you should. Lots of reading to keep you busy for awhile.

This site and forum are, bar none, the best on the net. It's the first and only, at this point, forum that I support with membership. I like to equate it with a magazine subscription, but instead of getting something once a month, I get new posts every day.
Anyway, I'm not trying to push membership, just trying to relate how I feel TY has helped in my enjoyment of the sport.

congrats on the 1st yammi. vipers are great sleds. 6000+ on mine and motor untouched. just regular maintenance. might want to check your rear skid, idlers, grease the fittings, push the water out if there is any.

i thought renfrew sounded familiar. i listen to 106.9 the bear everyday and i've heard them mention renfrew. welcome to ty

Congrat's.....