SX Viper 144 Needs Help with clutch & jets

SX Viper 144

Website
www.southdakotawhitetails.com
Hi guys,

Bear with me, I'm new at this.

Have an '02 Viper that has the Hauck Venom triple pipe and clutch set-up. Added a Mountain Performance Products 144" extension kit and Camoplast 1.5" Crossover track. It runs consistently strong on the flatland, but I can't seem to get the jetting and clutching set up for western riding. My local dealer has played with the jets, weights and secondary and has come close, but it still bogs down in deep powder. Plus, it dumps alot of fuel and I end up using everyone's spare tank!

Does anyone have a similar set-up that they've been able to get figured out? Most of our riding is in Montana near Taylors Fork at about 10,000 feet (leave the lot at about 7,500 feet and head up).

I still have the stock Viper gear and wonder if I should go with the Viper Mountain gear instead. Right now the sled pulls 9000-9200 RPMs which the dealer said is about right with the Hauck set-up. Unless I can get some guidelines as to setting it up right, I'm probably going to sell it and go with a regular mountain set-up.

Thanks!

ive had benders, hauck, and now this year im trying slp. Im going out to cooke city in 3 weeks so im riding about the same elevation. when i was out there in the past the bender and hauck pipes i had on were terrible on gas even if you jetted them down a bit, and this was on my 02 short track, now this year i stretched it out to a 159" and i had a little help getting it dialed in. Try 152.5 mains 50 pilots 1 3/4 turns out on the fuel screws and 1.5 on the needles, this is what hartman inc. recommended for me. I dont think the gas problem will go away thats why i strapped on a 5 gal gas tank. Try giving him a call and he will set you up with clutching and jetting. The website is www.hartmaninc.com his name is tom and he a super nice guy and knows his stuff.

Thanks for the tips.