stud questions

rancidjo

I am very new to the whole studding scene. I am considering studding my stock 02 viper. How many should I run? Just down the center or outsides too? Will I see a huge benifit on the trail (do not do much lake running). I would also welcome any other thoughts or suggestions on this topic.

off the top of my head I can not recall the lug height of the vipers stock track. I believe that it is a 1" lug and in that case I have had a lot of success in running 1.080 woody's studs in it. I would recomend that you run 96 studs right down the center of the track for excellent traction on almost everything. If you ride on the trails a ton like you said, I would only go with 96 studs because 144 is overkill, but definitally not more then 144!

.92 height. Will 96 be enough, will they rip out too easy? Or should I go to a 120 pattern. I read on some manufactor's website; 1 stud per hp, which would be 120. OR is 96 enough; I would like to get away with only running 96 if it is a good set-up. I only run 10% lake. I would like to install studs for better acceleration and a little more safety (icy corners, stopping etc.) Would 7" of 90 degree carbide be enough for 96 or 120 studs?

Last edited: