ANOTHER storage question

blk04700

what is everyone using to spray down under the hood and the skid to prevent rusting while being stored all summer ?? wd-40 ?? pb blaster ?? i heard to use fogging oil for that also ?? wd-40 just seems to evaporate after sitting for awhile.

blk04700 said:
what is everyone using to spray down under the hood and the skid to prevent rusting while being stored all summer ?? wd-40 ?? pb blaster ?? i heard to use fogging oil for that also ?? wd-40 just seems to evaporate after sitting for awhile.

I've been using silicone spray on everything for over 10 years. My '01 Yamaha owner's guide recommends the same for storage.

IMO - WD40 doesn't stay as well as silicone spray.

I scanned a copy of the 7 step storage process that came as a suppliment to my owner's guide. PM me your e-mail address if interested.

Started using a new to me product last year, called Fluid Film.

Fluid Film stops existing rust on contact. It prevents rust on all metals, lubricates moving parts for extended periods of time, keeps mud and dirt from sticking to metals, and is an excellent chain lube for offroad vehicles and on heim joints.

Fluid Film protects battery terminals for at least a year and will not harm paint, plastic or rubbers.

And no I am not a paid sponsor. It is just plain sweet stuff.

I always coat anything I don't want to rust with WD 40.

Where do you get this fluid film stuff? I might have to give it a try. My problem with WD 40 is that dirt and mud stick to it.