Couple of exciter questions

MoriceMtnMadman

Just signed up here last night, great site. I've been sledding since around 1982 and have had at least one sled for 25 of those 30 years. Just picked up an 89 Exciter for my son to ride. I have a couple questions. There is oil leaking from the top of the oil tank reservior where the low level switch fits in. I'm wondering how the switch assembly seals to the tank. I can just lift it out and can't see how its supposed to seal. The other one is where does the cable attach that keeps the hood from opening too far. I know I could attach it just about anywhere that works but I like things as they were from Yamaha. Thanks.

welcome:) u can find just about everything you need to know in here, check our different exciter threads in here (lots of good knowledge in them).

someone else can answer the first one for you though i got rid of the whole thing and mix it straight in the tank instead, feels a lot safer:)

My string is attached to the y-pipe, works great:)

I have the same problem, so to counter it, I cleaned the rubber piece that fits in the reservoir really good with brake cleaner, and wrapped about 5 lengths of black electrical tape. Stuffed it back into a CLEAN hole, and now it seals just great.

Got the hood fixed and cable attached today. Will reseal the oil reservior tomorrow. What is the doohickey above the left side carb on the cylinder jug that has a cable connected to it that goes to a choke lever?

could be the compression release used to make pulling it over easier,most have been removed and plugged because they leak,thought they only came on 87's?