Modifications required for new track?

RayJavu

I'm looking to replace the track on my sled and need some advice.
I have a 2001 Phazer 500 dlx. The track is 121 x 15, 2.52 pitch. If I go to the Camoplast site it says my sled can use a Camoplast Backcountry with 1.75" paddles or a Camoplast Intense with 1.5" paddles.
I got a comment about the Backcountry that "I might have to change to 8 tooth drivers for clearance". I'm new to snowmobiling and don't really know what's involved in making a decision about a new track. Is it true that I may have to change out my drivers or should I trust the info from the Camoplast site?
Thanks

on that sled you will have to use the 8t drivers to gain track clearance. these will have to be purchased and pressed on the driveshaft. of course the existing drivers need pressed off as well. depending on your riding style you can typically get by with the two center drivers as thats the way yamaha configured some of the phazers in 01. i know the mtn lite had 4 and the standard had 2, cant say for sure on your dlx model but i would guess at 4. that would be a judgment call as to how many you put back on.

there are a few other factors to consider when changing to 8t. your gearing will be affected by almost 12% and your speedometer will be off as well. both can be corrected using the correct parts. dont forget that the taller lugs are harder on your hyfax if you see alot of icy/low snow conditions.

I read your other thread as well. Seems to me 1.5 lug should be plenty for what your doing. Some guys have gotten away with using the stock drivers, others have trimmed the lug where it would rub on the exchanger protectors. The only problem I would for see is in wet tacky snow at low speeds snow may pack up in the front of the tunnel. Going with 1.75 your definitely going to have go the 8 tooth drivers and also keep in mind running that tall of a lug in icy,low snow or packed groomed trails may lead to torn/broke lugs