sled won't start now....

aloo1

I have a 1996 mountain max 600. bought it used earlier this year. I've been out 3 times on it this year with no problems. Only issue is after I cut it off it takes about 5-8 pulls each time to restart it. Well my friend was riding it and it tends to go wide open all the time. He said he heard a loud back fire and then the sled cut off and we could never get it started again and how to town it back to the trailer. I'm new to sleds so kinda lost here. Any suggestions? Maybe just a smartcarb cleaning is in order? And if so, does anyone have a good link on how to clean the carbs and put them back together properly?
Thanks,
Alan

I cleaned the carbs, they weren't that dirty either. Put the "muscle sled" back together. Used a lil engine start to start it. After a few 4-5 second engine running then dying attempts it finally started and when i throttled up it ran great in the high rpm's and stayed like that for a good 30 seconds or throttle blips and then holding high for 10 second then more blips.
problems now:
it won't start unless i use engine start
won't idle.
unplug the tps (i think) and it seems like it would let me drop the rpms to very low and be able to get back in the highs without dying.
with it plugs in, after it would run in the high rpms and sound healthy, if i dropped off the gas and let the rpms drop adn try to get back revving it, it would die.

Did not check compression bc I don't have a tester.

Again, very new to this so any suggestions and help would go far ways with me.
Thanks,
Alan

Last edited:
re-think your carb cleaning, sounds like you missed something or sucked something back in. if you didnt mess with the tps adjustment and it worked fine before, most likely that is not your problem as it wouldnt affect the low circuit.

could also be a choke plunger adjustment issue, low fuel in the tank, or fuel pump. you can use your thumb over the spark plug hole to get an idea of your compression.