What Happened? Please Yamaha - bring back the great sled you used to build!!

xsivhp

First - I know this is an old topic and I want to say I am a huge fan of Yamaha but I need to vent! Here we are 10+ years since Yamaha decided to go 4S. Does Yamaha have a huge technology advantage? Are they where they should be?

My answer to both questions is no. It's too bad as I would love to buy a Yamaha that was competitive with Polaris and Ski Doo products in weight and handling. I don't think reliability is so much an issue unless you just want to ride to put miles on and plan on keeping a sled for 20k miles. Being a married man a new sled every now and then is something I like to indulge in. My sleds since I started riding are:

1978 Yamaha 250 Enticer
1985 Arctic Cat 440 Jag*
1985 Arctic cat 440 Panterra
1988 Arctic Cat 440 El Tigre^
1995 Arctic Cat ZR580 EFI
2000 Ski Doo Formula Deluxe 700*
2004 Yamaha SX Viper S
2004 Yamaha SX Viper S (yes 2 of them 8500 miles between the two)
2009 Yanaha Nytro XTX
2010 Ski Doo Renegade 600 ETEC*
2012 Polaris Switchback 600 - 4700 miles no issues - one set of plugs

^ minor engine issue - self repaired under $500
* engine issue - Major issue over $1k

I buy sleds to have fun. I'm not so concerned about fuel mileage - anything over 12 is good for me!

Overall I have been the happiest with my Vipers and the Switchback. Decent ride, excellent durability, excellent reliability, reasonable weight, reasonable fuel economy. I have ridden Yamaha 4 strokes - all were too heavy IMO. Of course I have only ridden a '05 RS Vector, '09 Nytro XTX and a '07 Attak. I like the Vipers better! And when I say I have ridden them I mean more than 100 miles not just a quick shot down the trail.