AC guy looking to make the jump to Yamaha

Jake86

Well, as the title says I currently have a Thundercat 1000 that has long track conversion and mild motor work, M10 suspension, USI project X skis for trail riding, and D&D pipes.

My sled is great, but I have always loved Yamaha blue.. I raced MX for years on Blue bikes. Still trail ride my old YZ450F. I started riding sleds on a 92 Phazer 2. My father still has the sled it's mint. Then I had a 93 Exciter 2. My father still has that sled too. It's mint as well..

Anyway, long story short is that a buddy and I come across an opportunity to go in on a pair of Yamaha sleds. The first is an 04 Mountain Max with 300 miles, and the second is an 06 Viper Mountain with 800 miles. I get to pick which one I want. I need to help making this choice. I came here to ask the experts.

To help me make my decision here are the determining factors.

1. I am a big guy at 6'1 300lbs.

2. Which sled responds to mods better?

3. Which sled makes more power?

4. I live in Michigan, so UP trails, deep snow, and tight trails.

5. Which sled is a better platform to build off of?

6. I won't be riding in high elevations.

Thank you all

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Both are great sleds and will perform great. Both respond great to mods there are lots of mod here in the tech section for both.
The viper makes more power than the max does. The mountain max is a non power valve red head engine and will basically run forever if maintained properly. The viper should be a blue head power valve engine and it will run a long time to when maintained.
More guys will chime in here with more answers.