Welders flash?

zacksrx

Long story short someone who wasn't a welder got it by walking through the shop.

Do some people get it real easy? I have been welding for 4 years and have never got it once. Others have been welding for 30 years. Never got it once.

Is this similar to a deer caught in a headlight? Or is there some other reason.

what is it????? I've been welding for 17 and I never heard of it?????

zacksrx said:
Long story short someone who wasn't a welder got it by walking through the shop.

Do some people get it real easy? I have been welding for 4 years and have never got it once. Others have been welding for 30 years. Never got it once.

Is this similar to a deer caught in a headlight? Or is there some other reason.
You can get welders flash easily by not wearing saftey glasses and yes by being caught off guard of someone welding close by ,-less than 50 feet- I know from experience I flashed my wife and she got a mild case of flash burn nad bitched a bunch about itchy/irrritated eyes. I have flashed myself and had to deal with looking through a dark spot or when you look at something dark yu see a bright spot. You have to remember that there is Infra red, UV, and the thermal factor that come from an arc flash that causes flash burn. T

I've been a welder so far for only a year and a half... never got flash, got a helping hand hired and within three weeks I flashed the **** out of him and he couldn't make it to work for a few days. I have been caught (mostly by my boss who just loves to wait until you look to see what he's doing... then all of a sudden... ahh my fricken eyes!! lol) and have never got the flash. I think some people must get it easier than others but it doesn't make sense to me. I would think that an eye is an eye and all the stuff in there that makes you see shouldn't have too much difference in sensitivity........ but - That's why I'm a welder and not a surgeon!