Trail permit costs are beyond crazy!!

rx1jim

My son and I are planning out a few trips for this season. We'd like to ride in NY, where we live, along with trips to NH and Maine. We'd really like to go on a 1 week tour, 1500-2000 mile trip, in Quebec. Here is the cost of the trail permits: NY, resident: $80, NH, non resident: $90, Maine, nonresident; $90, Quebec: $300. Total for 1 sled: $560, total for both sleds: $1120!!!!!

Yes, I know the cost of grooming and trail maintenace is high but there is no way I can afford even $560 for trail permits. We'll only be able to ride NH and ME this year, total cost: $360.

Sure wish the states in the east here has reciprocal trail permit agreements.

People also look at trail prices here in Ontario, and have a big issue with them as well, and with me being a student, I do not know if I can afford to ride this year. I may have to skip a season due to lack of funds!

My thought on them is this. Yes, a season permit is $250(if you buy before dec. 1st, its only 200) BUT Ontario has 34,000KM (21,000miles) of trails that you can use all with ONE permit. Now I understand this may not be the case with every province/state, but in Ontario, as far as permits go, I think you get a pretty reasonable deal.

only thing here in Manitoba,you can't transfer top a different sled.So why should I have to pay 2 times..not knowing which sled to use based on the snow and weather conditions.Here it is around 100 to 120..unless it has gone up for this year..have to check...Yes sledding is a expension sport..costs for a sled,repairs,gas,oil and pass's..oh yeah perhaps a trailer and there is insurance for the two also.... :o|

Sounds to me like the state Governments are taking advantage of their people trying to enjoy the winter recreation activities. They know they will get their money if people can afford to own sleds since they know people can only ride a short time of the year.