'88 Exciter runs OK, then bogs down

rkhanso

I am new to snowmobiles. Just purchased a used '88 Exciter 570.

It starts fine, runs good for quite a while, but at some point, it'll lose power and not rev over 3-4000 and not have enough oomph to get the drive going. I think it happens after I've let it idle for a while.

After shutting the engine off and checking the sparkplugs, they are really wet. They're pretty new plugs and aren't very colored yet - still mostly white.

The guy I got it from (he didn't ride it, just found it for me and fixed it up a bit) lubed up the choke cable since it was stuck (I broke the lever), but the choke lever/system seems to be working OK now. Prior to me initially picking it up from him, he cleaned the carbs and did some other minor fix-ups.

When it runs good, it really moves. It's got a lot of power and runs great....until it won't get the RPMs up enough to take off. It starts really good, too.

Before I got the snowmobile, I think it sat for a couple years.

No, I haven't replaced the plugs yet, but will get some today and see if that makes a difference....but it's raining today here in central MN and I may not get it out again to test the new plugs for a number of days.

Anything else I should check?

Have u checked the fuel filter in tank....they get dirty and dont provide sufficient flow ....could be the problem, wet plugs tells me it isn't that , may be the ignition getting week spark once hot...thats not at all uncommon . My sled was just recently doing the same and it was the filter, it looked good but nothing above 4000rpm, it would bog down and if i held it there it would go to one cylinder and backfire a bit....put in new filter and perfect.....worth checking, easy and cheap.