Check your drive bearings!

Vmaxin

So i did all my regular maint. this year before I started riding: replace clutch springs, chaincase oil, torn down carbs and cleaned them blah blah. Ive had my sled for just over a year now and the speedo has never worked, the guy before me had it since 02 and he said it hadnt worked in years so i didnt think much of it. Anywho, had put on about 300km this year, was cruisin with my friend and boom! shit hit the fan. At first I figured... okay the engine went, after 9000km on a 2 stroke I was like whatever. Nope, my chain had grenaded. So ordered new gears, chain and jb welded my little chunk of case back together... check the bearings in the case they are all screwed, pull the case off replace them. Checked the bearing on the clutch side of the drive shaft... it was completely oblitherated. the inner race was GONE, the outter race was a U and the drive shaft had started chewing into my fire wall, so... no doubt in my mind this is what caused everything! Check your damn driveshaft/chaincase bearings.... 17 bucks is a hell of alot cheaper than the 350 i spent to on my parts. Lesson learned, hope you all dont have to learn it the way I did. Let it snow!

Bummer.

A tell-tale sign of a faulty left side driveshaft bearing is an inoperative speed-o.

The shaft starts to wobble (excessive drive shaft run-out) and takes out the speed-o key first. Then... well, you know the rest.

snomofo said:
The shaft starts to wobble (excessive drive shaft run-out) and takes out the speed-o key first. Then... well, you know the rest.
I always get a charge out of guys that are selling sleds and say ........"The only thing wrong with it is the speedo doesn't work".

Question of the day is can you replace that bearing without removing the driveshaft?

Yup, just replace mine at 4500 mi. Still ok but getting a little rough. Speedo still worked. Simple, important maintenance.