02 Mountain Max skid and track update

nst115

VIP Lfietime Member
I have the 153" skid from a 2009 m1000 and a 162" camo track from a summit x. I am trying to copy this http://www.totallyamaha.net/forums/...nd-162-install-complete!-EASY!?highlight=skid

I am kinda new at this, what all should I be looking at and replacing as I do this? Got the stock skid out tonight cut the track and removed it too since it was so shot.
Weight on the new parts is about 20lb less than what I had according to my scales. Skid is 30 lighter and the track is 10 more. Should be interesting...

Edit. I actually got sent a 2009 m1000 162 skid. I moved the front mount forward 3.75" I believe, should have done 4" since I also did a big wheel kit and it barely clears the rails at the back.

Last edited:

First things first you will need new cross shafts for the mounts. I just put an ez-ryde skid that came out of a cat. Cat tunnel is 15.5" wide yami tunnel is 16.5.

Did you get all the axle measurements from the old sled? Those will be critical. A 153 skid with 162 track is going to leave a lot of track without rail under it, probably going to need anti stab rollers on the rail tips.

I was hoping to use nylon spacers like the guy in the thread I linked for the width difference, any reason you think that won't work?
I have the measurements, looks like where he mounted it is slightly closer together for the mounts than they were factory. I would like to do it there also but will check the travel to make sure nothing binds.
Hadn't thought about anti stabs, you really think I'll need them with 2.52 track? Always hear of the 3.0 guys putting then in...

Also what do you all think about the width of track. What I have is 16. I was planning to cut it down but have seen now that it could fit, just not sure I want that much track for a 700.