New SRX 700 owner/stuck after leaving sled in snow

Docfroid

Hey everybody. I'm new to SRX 700. I have a used 2002 I just bought that had a low 1500miles on it and I'm trying to understand some crap that's been happening. If anyone can lend a hand.

I just got 2ft of snow here in Nj. So happy to get this bad boy out into the snow versus the 1" I took it out in the other week. So I noticed this weird smell as the track slips through the deep snow as I rev it and carved out the snow. Didn't think much of it bc once I was on packed snow on the road it would take off and I didn't notice anything.

So I came back through some deep snow and parked it under my deck. Left it out for 5 hours, came back out, turned it on, let it warm up for a bit, then hit the gas to start going. Clutch usually engaged at 4K but this thing was now revving to 6-7 and was just smoking and not moving. And now the same weird smell as before. I idled it back down, gave it some quick revs to 4-6k and eventually it started moving and I got going. Took it on the main roads and got it to 70 mph or so, my limitation on these roads, not the machines. Sounded good. Took off well. But I have no clue why it got stuck.

Can the clutch get frozen or packed with snow?? Maybe my brake is stuck and I don't know it? I have not used the brake lock so don't think that is it.

Please any thoughts or ideas would be much appreciated

New to sledding? Sounds like the skis and track were frozen to the ground. Good tip: when you leave then sled for hours or over night, lift each ski off the ground and bounce the rear end once. Problem goes away. Check your belt. Sounds like you may have flat spotted it.

yeah she was froze to the ground. next time just pick up the back and drop it, grab each ski handle and give them a lift to break the frost off them. that smell was belt, you probably smoked it.